Do You Know?

1.The name ”England” is derived from the old English

name Englaland which means ”land of the Angles”.

The Angles were one of the Germanic tribes that

settled in Great Britain during the early middle ages.

Great Britain =England, Scotland and Wales.

The United Kingdom is made up of the countries

England, Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland.

2.India has total of 1208 islands including marine,

riverine and lake islands.Andaman and Nicobar

islands is  a union territory of India located at the

juncture of Bay of Bengal and Andaman sea and

comprising 2  groups of islands: Andaman islands

and Nicobar islands separated  by Ten Degree channel.

3.Kangaroos have excellent hearing and like some other

animals, are able to move their ears in different directions

without moving the rest of their head.

4.The Germans themselves called their country ”Deutschland”

which simply means the people or the folk.

5.At the north pole sun rises on March 22 and sets

on September 21 same year.

6.The 7 horses yoked to the Sun God’s chariot are named-

Gayatri,Brhati,Usnik,Jagati,Tristup,Anustup and Pankti.

Surya is the mythological father of many notable sons

including Manu(progenitor of the human race), Yama,

the Ashvins, Karna and Sugriva. Surya is depicted as

a red man with 3 eyes and 4 arms riding in a chariot

drawn by seven mares. Surya holds water  lillies(white lotus)

with 2  of his hands. The chariot of the Sun God has

only  one wheel which is known as Samvatsara




Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s