Do You Know?

1.Dogs don’t sweat. They pant to cool down. They actually sweat through their paw pads.

2. Skinks(lizard) can see with their eyes closed. They have a permanent, transparent

eyelid cover over their eyes.

3.Goddess Saraswati is hamsa(swan)vahini. Swan is symbolism of spiritual perfection,transcendence and moksha.

4.Owl of Lakshmi is a warning against distrust and isolationism even selfishness.

5. The human body contains trillions of micro organisms, outnumbering human cells by 10 to 1. Because of their small size, however micro organisms make up only about 1 to 3 percent of the body’s mass ( in a  200 pound adult, that’s 2 to 6 pounds are micro

organisms) but play a vital role in human health.

6. River Dolphin is the national  aquatic animal.

Royal Bengal Tiger is the national animal.

Peacock is the national bird.

India Banyan tree(Fig) is the national tree.

Lotus is the national flower which is auspicious symbol of Indian culture.

Mango-National fruit.

National language—Under the 8th schedule of Indian Constitution, there are 22 languages as official  languages of India and no  National Language. There is also a demand for adding 38 more languages under 8th schedule.

National Song–The first two verses of ”Vande Mataram” penned by legendary Bengali writer and novelist Bankim Chandra Chattopaddhyay was selected as the National Song of India on January 24, 1950. The song shares the same status as the National Anthem ”Jana Gana Mana” barring  certain official dictates.

National Emblem is an adaptation from the Saranath Lion Capital of king Ashoka.

National flag is a horizontal tricolor in equal proportion of deep  saffron on the top,

white in the middle and dark green at the bottom.In the centre of the white band there is a wheel in navy blue to indicate Dharma chakra, the wheel of law in the Saranath Lion  capital.

7.Rabindranath Tagore bestowed the title ”Mahatma” on Gandhi in 1915, while writing his autobiography after the latter called him ‘Gurudev’.

8.The kingdom of Great Britain was replaced by the United kingdom of Great Britain and Ireland on January 1, 1801 with the Acts of Union, 1800.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s