Women Power.

A woman is like a tea bag-you can’t tell how strong she is

until you put her in hot water.

1.Avani Chaturvedi(B:27 October 1993) is India’s first woman

fighter pilot.

2.Mary Kom, the Five-Time World Ameteur Boxing  Champon,

clinched her 5th Gold in November 2017  at the Asian Confederation

Women’s Boxing  Championship.

3. Smt. K.S.Nagaratnamma was the first woman speaker of the Karnataka

Legislative Assembly from March 1972 to 1978.

4. Anupam Sud(B:1944) is one of the finest print makers among the

new generation of artists. Her art epitomizes the inter relation and

psychological tension between men and women. Her feminist works

are more metaphorical than direct, reflecting her humanistic


5. Mahasweta Devi,(B:14, January 1926 )Bengali fiction writer

and  socio-political activist,  was awarded the Jnanapith award

in 1996.

6. Ashapurna Devi (B:8,January 1909;D:13,July 1995) was a prominent

Bengali novelist and poetess. She was awarded Jnanapith award and

the Padma Shri award by the Government of India.

7.Nanjanagud Tirumalamba(B:25,March 1887;D:31 August 1982) was

the earliest new age  Kannada author, newspaper editor, publisher

and printer, who strived for the upliftment of women.

8. Hamsa Sharma was the first female coach to win the Dronacharya

Award in 2000 for weight lifting.

9. Mithali Raj (B:3 December,1982) is an Indian cricketer and the

captain of the Indian women’s cricket team in Tests and O D I.

and best batswoman of 2017. She was awarded Padma Shri

on 2015. She is the first Indian and 5th woman cricketer overall

to score over 1,000 world cup runs.

10. M.S.Subbulakshmi(B:16 September 1916;D:11 December, 2004)

was an Indian Carnatic singer. She was the first musician ever to be

awarded the Bharata Ratna.She was the only singer selected for

Ramon Magsaysay award. Sarojini Naidu called her ”Nightingale

of India”.

11. Sarojini Naidu(B:13,February 1879;D:2 March 1949) was a freedom

fighter,feminist and poet of modern India. She was also called Nightingale

of India. She was the first woman to be president of Indian National Congress.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s