Different Names Of Delhi.

1. Indraprastha (during the epic period of Mahabharat, 5000BC.

2. Hastinapur(means elephant city) name given by king Hastin.

3. Lal Kot, founded by Tomara king Anangpal  in 736 AD.

4.Renamed as Qila Rai Pithora (1180 AD) by Chauhan kings.

5.  Siri, built by Allauddin Khilji in 1303.

6. Tughluqabad, built by Ghiyasuddin Tughluq (1321 -1325)

7. Jahanpanah, built by Muhammed Bin Tughluq (1325-1351)

8. Feroz Shah Kotla, built by Firoz Shah Tughluq.(1351-1388)

9.Purana Qila, built by Sher Shah Suri and Dinpanah, built

by  Humayun, both near the legendary Indraprastha.(1538-1545)

10.Shahjahanabad, the walled city built by Shah Jahan(1638-1649)

containing Lal Qila and Chandni Chowk. It is presently

referred to as Old Delhi.

11. Dilli-because heart of India as it is capital of India.

12.New Delhi, the city built by the British on the South-West.

13. Lutyen’s Delhi-specifically  New Delhi named after

British architect Edwin Lutyen.(1869-1944).


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s